Friends

I was watching Friends yesterday on Netflix. I noticed how Monica was laying in Ross’s lap a lot.

I never had a brother, but my sisters and I never  laid on top of each other as adults.

I was just curious if this is normal for brothers and sisters to be all cuddled up at the cafe and on the couch at home?

My family was not affectionate so maybe I grew up differently and do not know.

I was particularly surprised at the scene where she was laying in his lap at the cafe and he was stroking her hair to comfort her for a long time.

It’s not that it offends me. I really like the show. I am just not always sure what other families do and it looked odd to me.

They also seem to talk about sex more than I would do if I had a brother. Particularly about Monica’s sex life.

I have brother in law that looks out for me like a sister. I do not tell him if and when I have sex or if I  am planning to have sex when I go out.

I assume the show is trying to portray a normal brother sister relationship. But sometimes it seems like the line between brother and sister and intimate relationship gets crossed.

I was just curious. What is normal touching between adult brother and sister? And where are the boundaries about talking about sex life.

It just kind of seemed like things I would never be comfortable doing.

Annie

24 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. myambivalentexistence
    Jul 22, 2015 @ 17:45:11

    My family was not affectionate. I can’t imagine being that intimate with anyone other than my hubby.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Human Interest
    Jul 22, 2015 @ 17:48:26

    That’s just weird. It sounds like they were acting like a couple instead of siblings…

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • gentlekindness
      Jul 22, 2015 @ 17:56:56

      Thank you. That is what they looked like to me. Then the rest of the group of friends were just sitting and having coffee around them, like it was normal.
      Thank you for letting me know. I am glad I am not the only one that has never seen that in real life.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

      • Human Interest
        Jul 22, 2015 @ 18:00:55

        My girlfriend was watching a new reality show last night about a famous family (can’t recall the name sorry) but the siblings were acting the same exact way.

        Like

  3. Amb
    Jul 22, 2015 @ 17:56:16

    That seems odd to me, also. I didn’t have an affectionate family, but I don’t think those would be things I would be comfortable with even if we were.

    Like

    Reply

  4. miusho
    Jul 22, 2015 @ 18:12:58

    I was affectionate towards some of my relatives. I’m a cuddly person with people I like. Relatives or not. 😮

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  5. mother wintermoon
    Jul 22, 2015 @ 18:38:02

    I always found it strange and overly intimate for siblings…not a representation of the typical brother/sister relationship at all. I couldn’t wrap my head around it. It was too couple-ish.

    Like

    Reply

    • gentlekindness
      Jul 22, 2015 @ 18:47:42

      Thank you. I was wondering. I am glad that it was not just me that thought so.

      Like

      Reply

    • gentlekindness
      Jul 24, 2015 @ 21:13:42

      You thought so too? Thank you for letting me know.

      Do you remember the story about the Emperor’s New Clothes?

      Everyone saw the truth but was afraid no one else did. They were all afraid to be the one to speak up so they all just pretended they saw nothing.

      Glad you saw the same thing I did.
      I really love this show. It is just that one thing the writers did that seemed unrealistic.

      I am still watching it on Netflix.
      But this was a fun discussion. I am pleased how many people responded to this post.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

      • mother wintermoon
        Jul 24, 2015 @ 21:27:26

        Good analogy. It was a good show with great cast chemistry, but yeah, writers do some bizarre things sometimes. You gotta wonder if one of the writers had that kind of relationship with a sibling.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Tessa
    Jul 22, 2015 @ 19:27:00

    We were not close either and I can’t imagine most siblings doing that.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • gentlekindness
      Jul 22, 2015 @ 19:37:40

      It must have just been a weird gimmick for the show. Everyone sitting on everyone!
      I am glad I was not just the weird one for thinking it was not reality.
      Thank you for letting me know.
      It is funny that it was bugging me enough to post it, but I am glad I did.
      🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  7. oledphatnuglee
    Jul 22, 2015 @ 22:19:17

    My kids are affectionate like that and all up in each others lives. I wasn’t raised with my siblings so obviously we aren’t close at all. I think it all depends on personality and family dynamics with all families being different.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

    • gentlekindness
      Jul 24, 2015 @ 21:17:44

      Yes you are right. Different families are different.
      I would have loved having a brother that was friends with me.
      But as adults I would not have laid in his arms at a cafe.
      This was a very interesting discussion. I am pleased that so many people responded to this conversation.
      Thank you.
      Have a good day 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  8. Felicia
    Jul 22, 2015 @ 23:16:39

    Nope. My brother and I don’t do that lol

    Like

    Reply

    • gentlekindness
      Jul 24, 2015 @ 21:09:12

      Thank you for responding. That is what I thought. It was something inappropriate that the writers of the show were trying to see if they could pass of as normal.
      Everyone who watched the show always accepted it….like The Emperor’s New Clothes

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  9. Ben Naga
    Jul 22, 2015 @ 23:56:07

    In my experience families interact in many ways. Whenever I react to something my first recourse is to look within and examine the root of my reaction. (Not that I am saying you should do the same, but it is an option and can be fruitful. 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  10. Thumbup
    Jul 23, 2015 @ 00:46:02

    Nope. Not me. I hit them.

    Like

    Reply

  11. inesephoto
    Jul 24, 2015 @ 14:14:27

    I was an only child, no experience with siblings, but I cuddled with my parents and grandparents, especially my dear Dad, as long as they lived. Wouldn’t cuddle with my cousins though. I think it is only in the shows, far from a real life.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Categories

