Grief and Loss

A single tear

fell down my cheek

and my eyelashes

were soaked

with salted water

for the poet who lives

on the other side of the states

and writes out loneliness

in computer light 

as sorrowfully as I feel

All at once

the tears they fell

that I thought were lost

from holding them back

for so many months

came down from nowhere

stopping me in silence

suffocating my body

as the grief of living

and loss

and all of the

compounded sadness

in my life

was felt

all at once

in my chest

making it hard to 

catch my breath

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. samlobos
    Aug 04, 2015 @ 18:57:57

    Oh, I’ve felt that way too. Touching.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Categories

