What is Schizoaffective Disorder?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Darcy Disconsolate
    Aug 08, 2015 @ 19:00:20

    My mom was misdiagnosed for several years as havng Schizophrenia.The current diagnosis that we’ve been going with is “bipolar disorder with psychotic tendencies”. Is bipolar with psychotic tendencies the same thing as Schizoaffective Disorder? (thanks)

    Like

    Reply

    • gentlekindness
      Aug 08, 2015 @ 20:35:50

      I think it is different but has similar signs and symptoms.
      My opinion is that psychology is not an exact science but more of an art because each individual person is unique. No two people are exactly the same.

      Bipolar 1 does have psychotic episodes and during those episodes the person could appear to a psychiatrist to have schitzophrenia.

      The important thing is that whatever medications and treatments they are giving her are working.

      Does she seem to be better? Are her symptoms under control?

      Like

      Reply

    • gentlekindness
      Aug 08, 2015 @ 20:39:16

      I had not heard of schitzoaffective disorder until I reblogged this post.
      Actually you might want to contact the woman from this blog that I reblogged this post from and see what she thinks too.

      She is more familiar with these particular disorders.
      Feel free to recontact me and let me know what she says. It is interesting.

      Thank you for reading my blog and taking the time to chat. 🙂
      Annie ❤

      Like

      Reply

    • gentlekindness
      Aug 08, 2015 @ 20:39:16

      I had not heard of schitzoaffective disorder until I reblogged this post.
      Actually you might want to contact the woman from this blog that I reblogged this post from and see what she thinks too.

      She is more familiar with these particular disorders.
      Feel free to recontact me and let me know what she says. It is interesting.

      Thank you for reading my blog and taking the time to chat. 🙂
      Annie ❤

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Categories

