Midnight Light

The crisp coolness of the night

Cuts sharply against  my skin

The moon watches me silently

Offering a dim illumination of the street

Like a  nightlight  in the darkness

Lighting  my path, but offering no consolation

No comfort  from the moon tonight

No comfort from the midnight light

It’s companionship is not the same

As someone who could whisper my name

And hold my hand to silence the pain

And speak of romance and love again

One step of footsteps where there should be two

I walk through the darkness  lamenting  of you

Leave a Reply

Categories

