Cover Me

Cover me with roses

Cover me with pearls

Turn all of my light off

Let me lie and curl

Cover me with blankets

Cover me with lace

I “breath in”  dark and silence

Dream of elegance and grace

Cover me with solitude

Make the demands all stop

I can’t meet them today

I am all covered

Toe to top

Cover me with blankets

Cover me with pearls

I’m not the one they think

I am a tired little girl

Cover me with nothing

Cover me with all

I am not really here

You will not catch me when I fall

Cover me and leave me

Take sensation all away

The mental torment also

I’ll not come out to play

Cover me with roses

Cover me with pearls

Leave me to my solitude

I am not of the world

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anon Y. Mouse
    Sep 10, 2015 @ 07:34:34

    Sad but beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • gentlekindness
      Sep 10, 2015 @ 07:38:02

      Thank you for reading. Sometimes the best poetry comes out of strong emotion like sadness. I wrote it a few months ago.
      Thank you for stopping by 🙂
      Annie ❤

      Like

      Reply

      • Anon Y. Mouse
        Sep 10, 2015 @ 07:40:08

        You’re welcome! Sadness can be very powerful for an artist. Some of one’s best work will result from deep sadness, I find. And work that results from deep sadness can often be very healing.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Original-Dante
    Sep 10, 2015 @ 07:47:46

    This is really amazing Annie

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. Alda L
    Sep 10, 2015 @ 11:59:58

    This is so beautiful! Just beautiful. I have no words to describe how I feel after reading something so beautiful. There is so much depth in this. Just love it

    Like

    Reply

  4. New Journey
    Sep 10, 2015 @ 17:09:24

    Very nice….really shows your emotion, even though its sad…its touches the heart…..

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Categories

