People With Mental Illness: I’m So Sorry About Kenneth Cole’s Billboard

wehaveapples

Dear People With Mental Illness,

I’m so sorry about Kenneth Cole’s billboard.I’m so sorry you have to see things like this pop up on your computer that make you feel subhuman.These are both such important causes (gun control and adequate care for people with mental illness) but linking them is absolutely atrocious. It stigmatizes and misrepresents you.One in four people in the world have suffered from mental illness. You are not an anomaly. You are not a freak. You are not violent.You are not damaged. You are not less-than. You are not a monster.You are a valuable, unique, wonderful human being who deserves everything grand that this life has to offer.Come out of the shadows and stand proudly in who you are.

I’m so sorry that the facts about you aren’t publicized. People with mental illness are more likely to be victims of crimes. Theyar

View original post 1,027 more words

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chess
    Sep 11, 2015 @ 15:36:58

    He’s an idiot!!!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Tejaswi
    Sep 11, 2015 @ 16:23:30

    Oh, but, … ok.. contrary view.. I am an anomaly, I am a freak, I am sometimes violent in expression and the way I write and create, I am damaged, I am really Less-Than etc… and sometimes I really am a monster… and you know what? I don’t care 🙂 I just need to know that I am me, somehow unique, so how is that bad at all? If that were the only criterion, that being different was bad, then most of the world is indeed mad.. ah, just ranting.. but I meant every word of it.. Sometimes, you just need to be honest, blunt and never mind the sympathy or empathy. I just need to know that I value myself and the rest of the world will follow suit 🙂
    (I hope that does not sound like I am off my meds.. er.. I don’t take meds.,.. which might explain it all… hehe.. but you know what? I never take meds.. I will heal myself)…

    Like

    Reply

    • gentlekindness
      Sep 12, 2015 @ 03:46:25

      I understand that you are unique and want the right to be yourself but… what was your opinion as to the Gun Control poster being rude to people with mental illness? Is everyone with mental illness dangerous and likely to kill someone with a gun….even people with depression, PTSD, anxiety disorder, C-PTSD etc?

      Was it appropriate to lump every mental disorder together and say they are all violent on a public display billboard?

      This kind of stereotype causes difficulties for people with any kind of mental illness to get and keep jobs. It works against them in society and in many areas of their lives. I am not sure if you are on the “opposite side” of this post, unless you thought the billboard was appropriate.

      I appreciate your wanting to heal yourself. The message in this billboard will promote stigma can will generate misunderstanding and hate of people with mental illness in society, which will interfere with the people who want to heal themselves. It will affect people on meds and not on meds.

      It sounds like you are advocating for the rights of people to be themselves which is not an opposite side to the post..it would be the same. Just trying to clarify your “opposing side” You have just as much of a right to state your side about the message on the billboard as the person I reblogged it from. I was unclear what your side of the issue was.

      Thank you for taking the time to comment about your feelings and opinions. Everyone has their own unique voice to e heard.

      Annie

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

    • gentlekindness
      Sep 12, 2015 @ 04:27:52

      You’re welcome. I enjoy your blog. Keep writing. Blogging is a great way to connect with others and to be yourself without as much judgement as in the “real” world. This has been a blessing for me. I have found much acceptance here.
      Annie

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Categories

