How to Turn off Pop Ups from a Specific Site that Got around your Settings

My apologies to anyone who has been getting that NSA camera thingy that had been popping up when you go to visit my site.

I have been trying to disable it and I think I finally did. We will see what happens. The web site that put that to pop up on my site was fight for the future .org fightforthefuture.org

I recommend that you stay away from the site , especially clicking any follow, like or subscribe buttons.

They put that pop up on my computer which not only fills my entire screen every time I try to do anything online, but it appears to many people who visit my blog.

I tried to email them and used the address they have at the web site. Guess what? It came up as an inactive email address. Then I tried the email address that they say is exclusively for press wanting to publicize them and it worked.

Eventually I had to search all over the internet to figure out how to block a specific site and this is what I ended up doing. These are the directions if you ever need to block a site. Hopefully it worked.. I did everything it says here.

 

Turn pop-ups on or off

Computer
  1. Open Chrome.
  2. In the top-right corner, click the Chrome menu Chrome menu.
  3. Click Settings.
  4. Click Show advanced settings.
  5. Under “Privacy,” click Content settings.
  6. Under “Pop-ups,” select Do not allow any site to show pop-ups (recommended) or Allow all sites to show pop-ups.

If yyou click Privacy …then there is a way to Allow or Block a specific web address

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. samlobos
    Oct 27, 2015 @ 00:11:43

    It still popped up on my phone…

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • gentlekindness
      Oct 27, 2015 @ 15:42:56

      Thank you for letting me know. I got a response from the Internet Defense site.
      I have someone who is trying to help me take it off.

      I am curious…when you see that come up , are you even aware of what it is and what their purpose is?

      Personally I think it is too weird and ominous looking to serve its purpose….which is to get people to sign the petition.

      I don’t know what these people were thinking. Signing the petition to stop the bill which limits internet privacy might be a good idea but terrifying people into it by putting something up that looks like a virus is disturbing.

      It is like using fear tactics to get you to sign a bill against fear tactics.

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply

  2. painkills2
    Oct 27, 2015 @ 03:43:57

    Yeah, I already have that setting checked, and I still get pop-ups. I also have AdBloc, which doesn’t work as well as it used to (although I noticed it blocked 175 ads on AOL the other day). It’s the auto-play videos that drive me crazy. And now, even when you click on stop, on some websites the video starts to play again after a few seconds. In other words, you can’t stop it. Those auto-play videos are gonna give someone a heart attack.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • gentlekindness
      Oct 27, 2015 @ 15:45:56

      I think I know what you mean by the audio play videos. I have been on youtube before and stopped the video to do something else. Then suddenly out of no where a loud video ad starts playing.

      It does scare you and confuse you to try to figure out what is happening.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Categories

