RIP and Memories of David Bowie

I was a big David Bowie fan when I was a senior in high school and all throughout my  college years . I saw him in concert twice in the Baltimore area, including the Glass Spider Tour. He put his all into his concert and was thoroughly entertaining. He had a way of drawing the audience in and making you feel like you were part of the show.

I remember when you used to be able to check out vinyl records out from the public library. When I was a senior in high school I used to check out David Bowie records with my library cards, and dance around my living room to China Girl . Modern love and Fashion…..turn to the left ! ….fashion….turn to the right!….Fashion !

Of course there is Major Tom (Space Oddity_ and the awesome Suffragette City….ooohhhhh wam bam thank you mam ! 

Reise ins Labyrinth, Die

Reise ins Labyrinth, Die USA 1986 Regie: Jim Henson Darsteller: David Bowie Rollen: Koboldkoenig Jareth

Image credit HERE

 

 

 Labyrinth has always been a favorite movie of mine. I must have watched it 10 times over the years. Bowie was soooo cool as the Goblin King in that movie. I loved his trick with the globe he did magical things with as he passed it back and forth between his hands. The little worm with the English accent was so funny…..“Don’t go THAT way! NEVER go THAT way !”…..”If she’d o gone that way, she’d o gone straight to that castle !”

And then there was The Hunger, where Bowie played an aging vampire. This was a very good movie but way too sad for me. 

Anyway, this was my offering to David Bowie. I know it was a little later than I intended. 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jennypugh
    Jan 13, 2016 @ 21:50:53

    You’re so lucky that you got to see David live in concert, he’s such an amazing performer. He will sadly be missed but his music is an amazing legacy 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • gentlekindness
      Jan 17, 2016 @ 00:48:19

      I enjoyed seeing him in concert. He was very artistic and theatrical. I saw a lot of great concerts back in those days…..Elton John. Three Dog Night, Santana, U-2. Eric Clapton, Peter Paul and Mary, Billy Joel. Rossington Collins, Ted Nugent, and more.

      I would have liked to have seen the Rolling Stones, Fleetwood Mac and the Dooble Brothers. Those are the ones I never got to see that I would have loved to see. But I was blessed to go to many great ones. !

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Categories

