Anxiety Attacks and the Mental Doors that Open in Our Minds

GentleKindness

Why do I get such severe anxiety when I have to be somewhere on time, even if I am not really running late? 

This was a question someone posed to me the other day. The first thing I told them was that I do the same thing. Then I tried to picture what happens to me in the same circumstance.

What happens is that we go through a series of “mental doors.” These are doors that will open to something bad on the other side of them. The doors are in succession; if the first one opens, then it is very likely the next door will open. Once that door opens, the next will open and so on.

In the scenario that plays out in our minds, the worst possible thing will happen behind each and every door, ultimately ending in a catastrophic event.  Each of the events  will cause…

View original post 702 more words

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. stephieann8
    Jan 29, 2016 @ 14:32:53

    I relate. I hate feeling like I’m running late.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Categories

