Coping with PTSD and Anxiety Disorders

If you have PTSD or an anxiety disorder, some days you have to take breaks between your tasks. Different people are triggered by different things and becoming overloaded can result in a complete meltdown or panic attack.

Pushing through your day without a break to calm yourself will drain you. It can take a lot of energy to do errands and activities, when you are being exposed to triggers in your environment.

Being sleep deprived can add to your anxiety. It is important to find ways to get enough rest and sleep. If anxiety keeps you from sleeping well at night, your body and your brain may require naps during the day. Self care is important.

If you need breaks between doing things, try to think ahead to plan enough time to take them. Be gentle and adaptable with yourself.

You are your own best advocate. Draw boundaries when you need them. Think of how you would treat a friend in circumstances like the ones you are in at the time, if your friend also suffered from PTSD.Β 

Sometimes it gives some perspective to think of what allowances and flexibility you would offer someone else. Looking at yourself from an observer point of view can help you gain some perspective and design coping methods for yourself.

Sending love and healing energies,

AnnieπŸ’•

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lady Quixote/Linda Lee
    Mar 16, 2016 @ 02:45:35

    Annie, this is really good and very helpful. Thank you!

    You wrote something a few days ago about executive function problems, that has changed my inner life. I am talking about a dramatic, major emotional change. In all my therapy for severe PTSD, and all my reading on the subject, somehow I had never heard of executive function. My therapist had told me that my problems with not getting things done and being so disorganized was due to my PTSD. But no one ever explained it like you did.

    My husband also has severe PTSD, caused by combat in Vietnam. He is as disorganized as I am. We both get so frustrated with ourselves. The shame alone has been soul killing. But after I read your post to my husband, i could see him visibly relax.

    What a relief it is to know what our problem is. Just having that knowledge and understanding that it is a real physiological problem makes all the difference. Thank you!!

    Like

    Reply

    • gentlekindness
      Mar 16, 2016 @ 03:13:12

      Thank you for letting me know this. I am so happy it helped you. πŸ’•
      Finding that there are reasons for these things helps us to be able to let go of self blame.

      Those inner tapes are very imbedded into the subconscious from the abusive childhood. If we are “failing” to do something to our satisfaction…or in the way we are “supposed to” do it….then those tapes begin to play…..”I am worthless”…”I can’t do things as well as other people”…”I don’t deserve things”….

      You are worthy and special just the way you are. Most all of your trouble doing things is from trauma and abuse. The very people that told you that you could not do anything right, are the ones that caused you to have trouble doing things.

      Have you joined me on my facebook page yet? I can send you the link if you need it. πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸŒ·πŸ’ƒπŸŒ·πŸŒΉπŸŒΊ

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

      • Lady Quixote/Linda Lee
        Mar 16, 2016 @ 05:19:50

        Thank you so much.

        I would love to join you on FB, however I ended my account a few years ago due to attacks from family of origin flying monkeys. I may start a new account using my pen name, Linda Lee. If I can ever get to the point where logging onto FB doesn’t give me flashbacks, that is.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Categories

