anxiety, anxiety attack, bipolar, bipolar disorder, borderline personality disorder, depression, mental disorders, mental health, mental illness, poem, poetry

Drones

Why do they target me,

Because I am different?

I am trying to make a difference

I am trying to create magic

To try something new

To make things  better

To change the

Same old,

Same old ways

that are…

static

inflexible

uncreative

I want to light up

The eyes and the hearts

Of the ones who are suffering

They need a new start

But

the drones

feel so threatened

They reject anything new,

Creative,

Innovative

They want to hush me

Put me in the corner

Threaten me

punish me

scold me

humiliate me

Because

I can’t conform

To the ways

that are

Boring !

Boring!

Lacking spark

I can’t make magic

I can’t make art

Not around them

No, not around them

They don’t like that I’m different

And try to innovate

They just want…

boring drones

boring drones

that repeat

that repeat

regurgitate

regurgitate

and reenact

The same old,

same old play

With the same old,

Same old lines

Drones who

do the minimum…

Just slide by

Collect their pay

That’s the conformist way

Watch what you wear

and watch what you say

It must match their

Damn  formula

Etched in stone

As if it were

The ten commandments

Brought down by Moses

Follow the social laws

Repeat and review them

Don’t try to add to them

Or subtract

what is…

Obsolete

Incorrect

Inhumane

What is most important

to them

Is that

We are all the same

4 thoughts on “Drones”

  1. It is hard to be different. We define a successful life, a good life the same way. There is this pressure to conform and be the same. I feel it a lot in my life. However, I am beginning to accept that my success and good life is very different than I use to define it as well. My health prevents me from living the successful life I once knew and was affirmed for. Now, I am learning to be about simple presence to another. I live fully and differently and it is working for me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment